IHW 99 Logo


Call for Papers



Accepted papers


Useful Information

Call for papers

29 September - 1 October, 1999
Dresden, Germany

Many researchers are interested in hiding information or in stopping other people doing this. Current research themes include copyright marking of digital objects, covert channels in computer systems, detection of hidden information, subliminal channels in cryptographic protocols, low-probability-of-intercept communications, and various kinds of anonymity services ranging from steganography through location security to digital elections.

These closely linked areas of study were brought together in 1996 by a Workshop on Information Hiding held at the Isaac Newton Institute in Cambridge. This was felt to be very worthwhile by the research community, and it was decided to hold a second workshop in 1998 at Portland.

This third International Workshop on Information Hiding will be held in Dresden, Germany from Sept. 29 to Oct. 1, 1999.

Instructions for authors

Interested parties are invited to submit papers on research and practice which are related to these areas of interest. Submissions can be made electronically (pdf or postscript) or in paper form; in the latter case, send eight copies. Papers should not exceed fifteen pages in length and adhere to the guidelines of the LNCS series

Addresses for submission


Andreas Pfitzmann, Dresden University of Technology, Computer Science Department, D 01062 Dresden, Germany


Paper submission: June 1, 1999
Notification of acceptance: Aug. 1, 1999
Camera-ready copy for preproceedings: Sept. 15, 1999
Camera-ready copy for proceedings: Nov. 15, 1999
The full proceedings will be published after the workshop by Springer Verlag in their Lecture Notes in Computer Science Series.

    Program committee

    • Andreas Pfitzmann (Dresden University of Technology) - Chair
    • Ross Anderson (Cambridge University)
    • David Aucsmith (Intel, Portland, OR, USA)
    • Jean-Paul Linnartz (Philips Research, Eindhoven)
    • Steve Low (University of Melbourne)
    • Ira Moskowitz (US Naval Research Laboratory)
    • Jean-Jacques Quisquater (Universit'e catholique de Louvain)
    • Michael Waidner (IBM Research, Zuerich)